CS 373 Fall 2020: Jesse Zou

Jesse Zou
2 min readNov 15, 2020

Blog #12

What did you do this past week?

I spent many many many hours trying to help students debug their code on their virtual memory project in OS. Besides that, I had a relatively light week, which is the first time it has ever happened this semester. I enjoyed some nights where I got to sleep in for once, which was a nice change of pace.

What’s in your way?

Making sure I stay on top of things before things get out of hand again. I have many projects due in the coming weeks, so I have to make sure I chip away at everything without procrastinating or else I’ll have a death week soon.

What will you do next week?

I’ll be working on all 3 of the projects that are coming up.

If you read it, what did you think of The New Methodology?

I thought it was interesting to learn about the history and finer mechanics behind Agile. All companies are always super interested in Agile, so it’s nice to know more details about it.

What was your experience of SQL? (this question will vary, week to week)

SQL has an interesting syntax. I’m having a hard time remembering some of it, but the language seems pretty interesting and powerful.

What made you happy this week?

I got to watch a movie with my family again, and it was pretty funny. My cousin is going to leave soon, so we’re trying to make his last week memorable before he leaves. We’re planning out some fun activities throughout the week so he can really enjoy the Texas experience despite the pandemic. Thanksgiving break is also almost here, and that thought alone is helping me push through.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My tip-of-the-week is to practice debugging techniques. After working long hours trying to get student’s code to work on OS project 3: VM, I’ve found that staring at the code is usually not that productive. The key is to be able to visualize what is actually happening when you run your code. Usually, this involves gdb or adding prints statements or asserts. If anyone knows of any additional software that could actually help with this, that would be great! If not, I think it would be a great project to work on.

--

--